J-11015/1/2005-IA II(I) (Pt.) Government of India Ministry Of Environment, Forest & Climate Change

Indira Paryavaran Bhawan Aliganj, Jorbagh Road New Delhi – 110 003 Dated: 3rd December, 2015

Order

Subject: Constitution of Expert Appraisal Committee (2) in the Infrastructure Sector for Environmental Impact Assessment of projects requiring Environmental Clearance under Environmental Impact Assessment Notification, 2006.

In pursuance of the Environmental Impact Assessment Notification S.O No. 1533(E) dated 14.09.2006, the Government of India in the Ministry of Environment, Forest & Climate Change hereby constitutes an Expert Appraisal Committee (EAC) (hereinafter referred as the Committee) for Environmental Impact Assessment and evaluation of Infrastructure-2 sector projects relating to Airport; All ship breaking yards including ship breaking unit; Common Hazardous Waste Treatment, Storage and disposal facilities; Ports and Harbours; Aerial ropeways; CETPS; Common Municipal Solid Waste Management Facility; Building and Construction Project; Townships and area development projects received by the Ministry for grant of Environmental Clearance.

2. The composition of the Committee is as follow:

Sr. No.	Name & Address	Position
4.	Prof. T. Haque,	Chairman
	Director and CEO, Council for Social Development,	
	53, Lodhi Estate, New Delhi.	·*
	E-mail: drt.haque@gmail.com	and advance (1907) (1908) (1908)
2.	Shrì K. Gowarappan	Member
	Plot No. 6, Ganesh Avenue, II Street Sakthi Nagar, Porur, Chennai -600116 E-mail: gowrappanmail@gmail.com	
:		
3	Dr. Yashpal Singh	Member
	0/004 \/: 4 4	
	2/364, Vishalkhand-2,	
	Gomti Nagar, Lucknow-226010, UP E. mail: dr.yashpalsingh24@gmail.com	
7	Dr. S.K. Bargava	Member
,	Dr. O.R. Burgava	Wember
	5/288A, ViramKhand, Gomti Nagar,	
	Lucknow-226010.	The state of the s
	E. mail: <u>bhargavsk@yahoo.co.in</u>	A
5	Dr.Chandrahas Deshpande,	Member
	Professor (Economics),	
	Welingkar Institute of Management Development and Research, Mumbai	-
	E-mail: dchandrahas@gmail.com	Andrews V
	E man. <u>denargaranas(ayman.com</u>	
	The state of the s	which was a second of the seco

Many

6	Dr.Ayi Vaman N. Acharya	Member
	89, 6 th Main, 3 rd Stage, 4 th Block, Basaveshwar Nagar, Bangalore-560079. E-mail: <u>vamanacharya14@gmail.com</u>	
7	Shri A.P. Singh	Member
	B-33, IDC Apartments, Plot-8, Sec-11, Dwarka, New Delhi-75 E-mail: omygod1953@yahoo.co.in	
8	Representative of India Meteorological Department, Ministry of Earth Science, Govt. of India.	Member (To be Nominated)
9	Representative of CSIR-Central Building Research Institute (CBRI), Rorkee, Uttarakhand	Member (To be Nominated)
10	Representative of TERI for Green Building Experts.	Member (To be Nominated)
11	Representative of School of Planning and Architecture Delhi, related to Urban Planning	Member (To be Nominated)
12	Sh. A N Singh	Member Secretary
	Ministry of Environment, Forest & Climate Change Jor Bagh Road, New Delhi-110003 E-mail: aditya.narayan@nic.in	

3. The terms of reference of the above Committee shall be as follows:

- i. To scrutinize the proposals for determining Terms of Reference (TOR) for undertaking detailed EIA-EMP study and undertake site inspection (if required).
- ii. To scrutinize the environmental impacts and examine the Environmental Management Plans prepared and submitted by the project authorities as per the TORs.
- iii. To recommend clearance or rejection of the project from environmental angle with reasons stated at scoping as well as at appraising stages.
- iv. To suggest specific environmental safeguards and conditions to mitigate the adverse environmental impacts in respect of projects recommended for approval.

4. The committee shall adopt the following procedure for appraisal:

- i. The committee shall meet at least once in a month on a fixed date/day.
- ii. The agenda for the meeting shall be circulated to all the members at least 12 days prior to the scheduled meeting by the Member Secretary.
- iii. The proposal will undergo a preliminary scrutiny (Screening) by the concerned Impact Assessment Division and if found conforming to the Statutory requirement will be placed before the Committee for appraisal on the first scheduled date of its meeting.

Hamef'



- iv. The appraisal of the proposal should be completed ordinarily in single meeting and a specific recommendation to be made. The Committee as deemed fit may defer the proposal on the basis of incomplete information presented by the project authority. Expert Appraisal Committee may recommend the projects under the following three mutually exclusive categories:
 - a) Recommended.
 - b) Deferred (for consideration in the next or future meeting as may be specified in the Committee's deliberations, after submission of required additional information to be further reviewed/ examined by the Expert Appraisal Committee).
 - c) Rejected (along with reasons for rejection).
- v. Site visit as part of the appraisal may be undertaken where it is considered as necessary for reasons to be recorded by the Committee, by a sub-group of the Committee consisting of not more than 3 members including one representative form MoEF&CC with the prior approval of the Ministry.
- vi. Minutes of the meeting recorded shall be prepared and the recommendation finalised and approved by the Chairman before taking further necessary action.
- vii. The chairperson may co-opt an expert as a Member for a particular meeting of the Committee.
- 5. Meetings of the Committee shall be held normally at Delhi but in exceptional cases, with the prior concurrence of the Ministry, these may be held elsewhere in the country.
- 6. The TA/DA of non-official members for attending meeting of the Committee or undertaking site visits approved by the Ministry will be met by the Ministry of Environment, Forest & Climate Change as per rules. TA/DA in respect of non-officials will be regulated under SR 190. Chairman is entitled for the reimbursement of the cost of travel by executive class Air by the shortest route. All other members are entitled to travel Air in the Economy class by the shortest route.
- 7. The non-official members of the Committee shall be paid sitting fee/honorarium @ Rs. 3000/per day for the EAC meetings.
- 8. The tenure of the Committee shall be 3 years.
- 9. This issues with the concurrence of IFD vide their Dy. No. 1426 dated 02.12.2015 and with the approval of the Competent Authority.

(Manoj Kumar Singh) Joint Secretary to Govt, of India

Copy to:

- 1. Chairman and all Members of the Committee.
- 2. All officers of IA Division.

Copy for information to:

- 1. PS to MOS (EF&CC)
- 2. PPS to Secretary (EF&CC)
- 3. Website